Expertise, Decision-Making and Public Debate

This axis examines the evolving notion of the expert and the agents involved in the production of expertise, as well as their contingent and disputed status in public discussion. The relationship between science and policy are structured by epistemic inequalities between actors, but the modalities of this structuration are the subject of lively controversy.

CIRTS’s projects will specify the different facets of the expert and the various "politics of expertise", revealing the structural changes that alter the public uses of expert knowledge.


Major research themes


The study of the experts themselves, that is to say, those who claim to supply expert knowledge for public debate and political decision-making through the production of:

1.1.1 A political and epistemic portrait of non-academic providers of expertise such as think-tanks, central banks, review boards and bureaux of statistics.

1.1.2 A socio-political history of the changing role of two specific forms of expert knowledge : statistics and economics (including financial economics), whose technical character has increased over time thus transforming their public role and their relationship to policy-making. This component compares both different national systems and different historical periods that have fostered liberal, fascist and communist political environments.

Researchers:  J.-P. Beaud, F. Claveau, P. Doray, T. Düppe, F. Jovanovic, R. Leonard, S. Moulin, F.-X. Olleros, J.-G. Prévost


The analysis of the public uses of expertise.

1.2.1 The study of the uses of expert knowledge by lay actors (citizens, policy makers, media, lobbies) in the process of political decision-making or in the public sphere.

1.2.2    The identification of the factors that determine the true weight of expert opinion in public debate and decision-making, including the impact of information technologies (data circulation, participation tools) on the framing of public debate and citizen participation in decision-making processes based on expertise.

Researchers: Y. Gingras, E. Lachapelle, F. Millerand, E. Montpetit, V. Larivière


Defining ways of assessing the reliability of expert knowledge.

Increased citizen participation in the political regulation of technology requires the design of modes of participation, co-construction and collaborative practices. The definition of these modalities involves:

1.3.1    The formulation of normative criteria of validity in order to provide the public and policy-makers with the epistemological tools with which the claims of expert and organizations claiming expertise can be examined. These criteria will also provide an analytical framework with which to understand the legitimate or illegitimate roles played by values and other forms of bias in the production and reception of expert knowledge.

1.3.2    The formulation of good practices in terms of participation in expert debates with regards to both the expected behavior of experts and the structures that favor the peaceful cohabitation of different kinds and levels of expertise.

Researchers: F. Bouchard, F. Claveau, A. Corriveau-Dussault, L. Faucher, V. Guillin, L. Heaton, E. Lachapelle, F. Millerand, E. Montpetit

Updated 15 February 2017 at 10 h 21 min.

Expertise, décision et débat public

Responsable de l’axe : Éric Montpetit

Cet axe interroge les figures mouvantes de l’expert et des organismes producteurs d’expertise, ainsi que leur place, changeante et disputée, dans la délibération publique. Les rapports entre science et politique sont structurés par les inégalités épistémiques entre acteurs, mais les modalités de cette structuration sont sujettes à de vives polémiques.

Les projets du CIRST précisent les différents visages de l’expert et des « politiques de l’expertise », en montrant les mutations structurelles qui modifient les usages publics de savoirs experts.


Thèmes de recherche de l’axe 1


L’étude des experts eux-mêmes, c’est-à-dire des acteurs qui prétendent alimenter en savoirs experts le débat public et la décision politique.

1.1.1 Portrait, politique et épistémique d’organismes dispensateurs d’expertise non universitaires, comme les think tanks, les banques centrales, les commissions d’examen ou les bureaux de statistique.

1.1.2 Histoire sociopolitique du rôle changeant de deux savoirs experts particuliers, la statistique et l’économie (y compris l’économie financière), dont le caractère technique s’est accentué avec le temps, transformant leur rôle public et leur rapport au politique. Ce volet inclut un fort volet comparatif, entre divers systèmes nationaux, mais aussi dans le temps, entre des environnements politiques libéraux, fascistes ou communistes.

Chercheurs : J.-P. Beaud, F. Claveau, P. Doray, T. Düppe, F. Jovanovic, R. Leonard, S. Moulin, F.-X. Olleros, J.-G. Prévost


L’analyse des usages publics de l’expertise.

1.2.1 L’étude des usages de savoirs experts par les acteurs non savants (citoyens, décideurs, médias, lobbys) dans les processus de décision politique ou dans la sphère publique.

1.2.2    L’identification des facteurs qui déterminent le poids réel des points de vue experts dans le débat public et la décision, incluant l’impact des technologies de l’information (circulation de données, outils participatifs) sur les termes du débat public et la participation citoyenne dans la décision fondée sur l’expertise.

Chercheurs : Y. Gingras, E. Lachapelle, F. Millerand, E. Montpetit, V. Larivière


La définition de moyens d’évaluation de la fiabilité des savoirs experts.

L’augmentation de la participation citoyenne dans la régulation politique de la technologie nécessite le désign de modes de participation, de coconstruction ou de pratiques collaboratives.  La définition de ces moyens implique :

1.3.1    La formulation de critères normatifs de validité, pour fournir au public et aux décideurs des outils épistémologiques auxquels soumettre les prétentions d’organismes experts, ou pour offrir une grille d’analyse des rôles, légitimes ou illégitimes, des valeurs ou d’autres biais dans la détermination et la réception des savoirs experts.

1.3.2    La formulation de bonnes pratiques en matière de participation aux débats experts, concernant tant le comportement attendu des acteurs experts que les structures favorisant la cohabitation de divers registres d’expertise.

Chercheurs : F. Bouchard, F. Claveau, A. Corriveau-Dussault, L. Faucher, V. Guillin, L. Heaton, E. Lachapelle, F. Millerand, E. Montpetit

Mis à jour le 15 février 2017 à 10 h 21 min.