The Actors and the Dynamics of Innovation

This axis examines the dynamics of technological innovation for social, commercial or scientific purposes in order to generate a wide-ranging and multidisciplinary reflexion on the meaning of the verbs "innovate", "create" and "use". This Axis focuses on the link between industrial innovation and use innovation as expressed in the phenomena of appropriation and/or co-construction in the workplace and in civil society, phenomena that reveal the malleability of technological devices that affect as much the economy as they do scientific discussion and public mobilization and advocacy.

By linking objects of study that are usually separated (management of innovation, communications, information science), CIRST’s projects promote a wider reflection on the changing conditions of innovation and its dissemination. Technological dispositifs are presented not as finished products or as the fruit of a linear process, but as the results of constructions and unplanned collective reconstructions with significant economic, sociopolitical and scientific impacts.


Major research themes


The impact of digital technologies and the increased circulation of information on various types of industrial, social or organizational innovation, a central issue both in management sciences (most notably with regards to the concept of open innovation) and in communication studies. CIRST approaches this problem in a multidisciplinary fashion from three different angles.

3.1.1    The characterization of emerging, non-linear mechanisms of collaboration, dissemination and relocation of industrial innovations in high-technology sectors (aerospace, biotechnology) in order to identify the impact of networks and politico-industrial ecosystems on the success of innovations or on the attitude of firms. In this approach, the synergy between CIRST, OST and the C. Beaudry  Chair will draw together an extensive theoretical program and case studies on the determinants of industrial innovation, such as the governance of digital technologies and the internationalisation of firms.

3.1.2    The study of the appropriation of technologies by members of civil society or in the context of the workplace, leading to co-design or collaborative innovation by the users, in areas of activity usually viewed as distinct (civil society, office work), but that at CIRST contribute to a dialog on the impact of digital technology on the production of knowledge and new practices and on the malleability of these technologies.

3.1.3    Reflexions on the practical and conceptual future of the idea of "social acceptance" that are as marked by the potential uses of co-construction and participatory evaluation in the facilitation of high-technology projects, as they are by the overtaking of this notion by the idea currently accepted in the global arena of "responsible technological innovation" in the fields of nanomedicine and climate change. All of this will be examined in the context of a broader general reflection on the regulation of new technologies.

Researchers: F. Armellini, C. Beaudry, G. Blum, C. Bonneau, A. Gentzoglanis, L. Heaton, E. Lachapelle, G. Latzko-Toth, R. Leonard, F. Millerand, F.-X. Olleros, M.-H. Parizeau, S. Veilleux, M. Zhegu


The adoption and use of digital technologies in the world of academic research. The real impact of digital technologies on the strategies of individual researchers and research institutions is currently the subject of wide-ranging, open-ended discussions of great significance for future research policies. At CIRST, this question is the subject of a collaboration between researchers in communications ans scientometrics and bibliometrics that combines in an original way qualitative and quantitative approaches. This collaboration takes two forms.

3.2.1    The analysis of the growing use by academic researchers of alternative publication platforms – whose magnitude awaits evaluation - as well as its effect on the circulation of information, communicational behaviors, and the displacement of scholarly discussions toward more informal fora.

3.2.2    The evaluation of the impact of digital technologies on the future of science policy. This includes a number of issues that range from scholarly communication and access to science to the role of cyberinfrastructures (databases, distance education) and the increased ease of research practices which themselves run the gamut from partnership to fraud.

Researchers: F. Bouchard, Y. Gingras, L. Heaton, V. Larivière, F. Millerand, M. Zhegu

Updated 15 February 2017 at 10 h 21 min.

Acteurs et dynamiques de l’innovation

RESPONSABLE DE L’AXE : florence millerand

Cet axe interroge les dynamiques de l’innovation technologique, à des fins sociales, commerciales ou scientifiques, pour offrir une réflexion générale et multidisciplinaire sur la signification des verbes « innover », « créer » ou « utiliser ». Cet axe se concentre sur le lien entre l’innovation industrielle et l’innovation d’usage que recouvrent les phénomènes d’appropriation ou de coconstruction en milieu de travail ou au sein de la société civile, phénomènes qui révèlent la malléabilité de dispositifs technologiques qui affectent tant l’économie que la discussion scientifique et la mobilisation publique.

En reliant des objets d’étude généralement séparés (gestion de l’innovation, communications, sciences de l’information), les projets du CIRST favorisent une réflexion plus globale sur les conditions changeantes de l’innovation et de sa dissémination. Les dispositifs technologiques y sont présentés non comme des produits finis ou les fruits d’un processus linéaire, mais comme les résultats de constructions et de reconstructions collectives non planifiées, aux retombées économiques, sociopolitiques et scientifiques significatives.


Thèmes de recherche de l’axe 3


L’impact des technologies numériques et de la circulation accrue d’information sur divers types d’innovation, industrielle, sociale ou organisationnelle, un enjeu central tant en sciences de la gestion (notamment avec le concept d’innovation ouverte) qu’en sciences des communications.

Le CIRST y contribue par l’exploration multidisciplinaire de trois angles particuliers.

3.1.1    La caractérisation de mécanismes émergents, non linéaires, de collaboration, de dissémination et de délocalisation des innovations industrielles dans des secteurs de haute technologie (aérospatiale, biotechnologie), pour identifier l’impact des réseaux et des écosystèmes politico-industriels sur le succès des innovations ou sur l’attitude des firmes. Dans ce chantier, la synergie entre le CIRST, l’OST et la chaire de C. Beaudry fait converger un programme théorique d’envergure et des études de cas sur les déterminants de l’innovation industrielle, comme la gouvernance des technologies numériques et l’internationalisation des firmes.

3.1.2    L’étude de l’appropriation active de technologies par des membres de la société civile ou en contexte de travail, menant à des épisodes de codésign ou d’innovation collaborative par les usagers, sur des terrains généralement vus comme disparates (société civile, travail de bureau), mais qui alimentent, au CIRST, un dialogue sur l’impact du numérique sur la production de savoirs et de pratiques nouvelles, et sur la plasticité de ces technologies.

3.1.3    Des réflexions croisées sur l’avenir, pratique et conceptuel, de l’idée d’« acceptation sociale », marquées tant par le potentiel de la coconstruction et de l’évaluation participative pour faciliter des projets de haute technologie, que par son dépassement, sur la scène mondiale, par l’idée d’« innovation technologique responsable », entre autres sur les fronts de la nanomédecine et des changements climatiques, dans le contexte des grandes réflexions générales sur la régulation de nouvelles technologies.

Chercheurs : F. Armellini, C. Beaudry, G. Blum, C. Bonneau, A. Gentzoglanis, L. Heaton, E. Lachapelle, G. Latzko-Toth, R. Leonard, F. Millerand, F.-X. Olleros, M.-H. Parizeau, S. Veilleux, M. Zhegu


L’adoption et l’usage des technologies numériques dans le monde de la recherche universitaire.

L’impact réel des technologies numériques sur les stratégies des chercheurs individuels et des institutions de recherche fait actuellement l’objet d’une vaste discussion, toujours ouverte et lourde de signification pour les futures politiques de la recherche. Au CIRST, cette question fait l’objet d’une collaboration entre des chercheurs en sciences de la communication et en scientométrie et bibliométrie, qui allie de façon originale approches qualitatives et quantitatives. Cette collaboration prend deux formes.

3.2.1    L’analyse de l’usage croissant, par les chercheurs universitaires, de plateformes alternatives de publication – dont il reste à évaluer l’ampleur – ainsi que leurs effets sur la circulation de l’information, les comportements communicationnels et le déplacement de la discussion savante vers des lieux moins institués.

3.2.2    L’évaluation de l’impact des technologies numériques sur l’avenir des politiques scientifiques, allant de la communication savante à l’accès à la science, en passant par le rôle des cyberinfrastructures (bases de données, enseignement à distance) et la facilité accrue de pratiques de recherche, allant du partenariat à la fraude.

Chercheurs : F. Bouchard, Y. Gingras, L. Heaton, V. Larivière, F. Millerand, M. Zhegu

Mis à jour le 15 février 2017 à 10 h 21 min.